Lets get back to the Art! June 3, 2011

I’m sitting in my room, inspired by local Dallas Artist, Erica Diamond Guajardo.  Most of you that know me personally, know that I am talking about myself… I have to say that I am a pretty inspiring artist because I appreciate things that came before me, and I respect those teachers that have tought me that “form follows function”.  A wise person taught me that in order to learn, you must be quite…because if you are always talking, you can never be fully indulging the teachings of the teacher. Plus, no one likes a know-it-all!

One of the pieces in my room you can see…

A New Argentina

What I love about this piece is that it fully captures the beautiful day in Argentina.  This piece was created through Photoshop, by overlapping photographic pictures, and hand renderings.

At the time that I was creating this piece, I was in Argentina, in the hostel, and had no drafting supplies or scanner.  I didn’t want to produce crap, when I was there, but needed to find a solution to create the image in my head.  So I started by looking for a photograph that I had taken during the time I had been in Argentina.  I came across  this image…

During the time of the image, I was sitting in a bus, looking out the window, loving every moment!  We were on the high way, and this was the first image of a good neighborhood in Buenos Aires.  The sky was so blue that day, almost periwinkle! I was in love! Our tour guide said that the pigment in the sky there was slightly bluer, because Argentina sits directly under a “problem ozone area”.  -Fun Fact

I decided that this piece pulled to me because of the buildings, and how the blue of the sky filled the negative space, and gave contrast with the foreground of the buildings and trees.  But what didn’t appeal to me was that we were on a highway…I know that many artist love movement in there art, but this was not the right fit for the image that I saw in my head.  I had a innovative way of thinking at the time, and I was trying to figure out how to solve a problem, that Argentina had.

Argentina is so very lucky to be the home of a Metal Flower, that opens and closes with the sun.   This is what the Metal Flower looks like….

The problem with this sculpture, is that the maintance is to expensive to maintain.  With this in mind, Argentina may lose there gift from, Eduardo Catalo ….(Also, something that attracted me to this particular artist is that he has an interest in architecture, as do I.)

So what will Argentina do with this piece of art?  Probably, let it rot! So, I was proposing a solution to their problem… I proposed it be an outside sculpture that people can experience its grandness, be able to walk in and out of…  Subconsciously,  I was pulling from one of my favorite sculpture peices.  It is located in The Fort Worth Modern Museum…

Richard Serra sculpture, “Vortex.”

The best thing about this particular piece is that you can feel the your energy, because you can hear every little movement that you make in this particular space.  I would like to let others experience this feeling that art can give you.

So in the rendering, you can see my sketch of the flower…but what some people don’t know about my sketch of the flower is that it was its own separate piece of art, at one particular time.  Originally it came from a sketch that I did, during my time at a park.  I called the park, “Lovers Paradise.”  Because this was the spot where people displayed to much PDA.

I’m glad that I didn’t go with this image…Its lazy! and below my capabilities as an artist.  One thing that I’ve notice about myself is that I think that you must try your hardest at everything that will help you accomplish your goals in the future.

Back to “A New Argentina”… The piece was lacking substance…I figured, it would be a perfect area of space to introduce that I can draft three dimensionally to scale. But, another problem that I had came across was that Argentina had no such thing as Velum,tracing paper or anything transparent, so that I can hand draft in layers.  I actually came across two pieces of tissue paper, I decided that this was going to be where I created my final piece for the drafting portion of the design.  I designed a simple structure that may represent a business building or entrance to a museum.  To be clear, I had three separate ideas, collaborated into one piece.  I had decided that I should present this idea as an architectural rendering.So that it can be taken professionally.  Once I placed each item, in its appropriate area…life was given to the piece.

The only things that I can critic negatively about the piece is that I should have taken into consideration that I was creating a waterless lithograph with this image, and when you place the transparency on the emolution coated plate, it prints backwards.  Fortune ally, I had no words in this image, so its not distracting to the eye.    Another area that is distracting to me, is that I left a small corner of the highway showing by the flower. No one would ever notice, but because I know where the photograph was taken.  It bothers me…an artist is its worst critic!

Hopefully you can understand now, why I am so inspiring, as an artist.  Every idea, started somewhere, with some purpose. It just takes ,at least one person to implement the idea.One of my goals in life is to inspire creativity, especially at an early age.  The way we think can be inspiring to others, and we need to learn to have intellectual conversations with others, so that we can learn from them, and they can learn from us.  I believe that when you have an intense conversation with someone about anything that interest you, something inside of your brain gets stimulated and motivates us into educating ourselves about the particular field that was discussed.  Remember to be you in life, and never change for anyone!

To learn more about Me, follow my blog! and tell your friends!

 

About lancegray02

Born and raised in Dallas, Texas. Erica Guajardo is an emerging artist/ designer. Having a background in Interior Design and Printmaking. Creating Images that are esthetically pleasing to the average eye, but yet bold enough to create visually appealing statement. Art is created in the form of prints, wood cut out wall art, and digital designed images. Background to Erica's success is that she studied under an ASID designer for the past 8 years, while working at Fabrics and Frames Furniture, LLC. At Fabrics and Frames, she has learned the "IN's and Out's" to understanding the ergonomics in custom furniture. With this knowledge, she has been able to apply techniques to create wood cutout wall art, used for interior designing purposes. Some other areas that have helped Erica succeed in art is that she studied in Buenos Aires, Argentina through a study abroad program focusing on printmaking, which was represented by UTA. She also has interned at The Dallas Contemporary Museum. She believes that education and hard work is the key to success.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Lets get back to the Art! June 3, 2011

Leave a comment